International Instruments and Statutes

Statute of The International Court of Justice
Updated Statute of The International Criminal Tribunal for The Former Yogoslavia
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
Statute for The Special Court for Sierra Leone

The Rome Statute is the International Criminal Court’s (ICC) founding treaty, adopted on 17 July 1998 at the United Nations Diplomatic Conference and entered into on 1 July 2002. The Rome Statute is supported by over 120 countries, including 33 African States, 19 Asian States, 18 Eastern European States, 28 Latin American and Caribbean States, and 25 Western European and other States.

To enable the effective functioning of the Rome Statute, the ICC persuade State Parties to incorporate and implement the treaty into their domestic legal systems.  Under the Rome Statute, State Parties are under an obligation to honour and give effect to  commitments they had explicitly made in order to cooperate with the Court. Moreover, in accordance with the principle of complementarity, State Parties should implement the definition and prohibition of offences in their national legal frameworks in order to be able to investigate and/or prosecute the crimes under its jurisdiction.

The link to the Rome Statute can be found below: 

The Statute of the International Court of Justice (ICJ Statute) is the successor of the